When it all comes together…..

It can be a pretty good feeling.

One of the most enjoyable things for me, is seeing people I have helped be succesful at catching fish. It’s a lot easier when you’re on the water with them, but sometimes you can only communicate via text messages or emails.

A friend of mine has recently got into the steelhead and float fishing game and was asking for a few tips. He wasn’t looking for a spoon feeding, but he just needed to get pointed in the right direction.

I gave him advice on what types of baits to run, and when, as well as shotting patterns and reading your float. He was an avid fisherman to begin with, and has spent time “working” in Alaska for an Environmental Firm.

As of late, he had a rough run of getting skunked. He had hooked a couple fish, but nothing to hand. The other day I was pleased to see a picture message come across my phone from him. It was his first steelhead landed. Then I received another picture.

Who knows if the advice I gave him worked out. Maybe he figured it all out on his own. Either way, it’s good to see him finally start catching fish and bringing them to hand. Now I just have to make sure he keeps quiet about the spots I sent him too.

Leave a Reply

